For Immediate Release: January 8, 2018

AtlantiCare to award 60 mini-grants
 to support school garden and wellness activities
in Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean counties

AtlantiCare Healthy Schools, Healthy Children (HSHC), a program of the AtlantiCare Foundation, has announced its mini-grant recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year. The $51,000 in total grants goes to schools in Atlantic, Cape May and Southern Ocean counties. The grants will support new and existing school gardens and wellness activities.

AtlantiCare will recognize the awarded schools and formally present checks during an educational school garden and wellness workshop Tuesday, January 9, from 8:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Stockton University Campus Center Event Room,

AtlantiCare introduced its HSHC Program in 2005. It now partners with 114 schools, from kindergarten through high school. AtlantiCare HSHC awarded the 2017-2018 mini-grants to schools that demonstrated innovative initiatives aimed at encouraging physical activity and healthy eating habits among students and their families as well as staff.

“We’re excited to continue supporting school gardening programs by awarding these mini-grants,” said Laura Engelmann, MHA, community health and wellness manager, AtlantiCare. “We’re pleased to offer grants to schools that have participated in our grant program previously and to new schools. We thank the principals, educators, staff, and students at all the schools for embracing wellness activities that support their academic requirements.”

Awarded schools and grants are as follows:

$1,500 New Edible School Garden/Alternative Garden Award
• Ethel A. Jacobsen Elementary School, Surf City
• Atlantic Community Charter School, Galloway
• Middle Township High School, Middle Township
• Smithville Elementary School, Galloway
• St. Vincent DePaul Regional School, Mays Landing

$800 Sustained Edible School Garden Award
• Absegami High School, Galloway Township
• Alder Avenue Middle School, Egg Harbor Township
• Avalon Elementary School, Avalon
• Chelsea Heights School, Atlantic City
• Eagle Academy, Egg Harbor Township
• Estell Manor Elementary School, Estell Manor
• H. Ashton Marsh Elementary School, Absecon
• Joseph Shaner Elementary School, Mays Landing
• Northfield Community School, Northfield
• Pleasant High School, Pleasantville
• Richmond Avenue School, Atlantic City
• St. Joseph Regional School, Hammonton
• Texas Avenue School, Atlantic City
• Upper Township Middle School, Petersberg

$800 Healthy School & Healthy Garden Grant
• Buena Regional Middle School, Buena
• Dr. J.P. Cleary Elementary School, Minotola
• Cedar Creek High School, Egg Harbor City
• Emma C. Attales Middle School, Absecon
• Fernwood Avenue Middle School, Egg Harbor Township
• Galloway Township Middle School
• International Academy of Atlantic City Charter School, Pleasantville
• Mainland Regional High School, Linwood
• Mullica Township Primary School, Elwood
• Stone Harbor Elementary School, Stone Harbor
• William Davies Middle School, Mays Landing
• Washington Avenue School, Pleasantville

$800 Healthy School Wellness Grant
• Arthur Rann Elementary School, Galloway
• Atlantic Christian School, Egg Harbor Township
• Atlantic County Institute of Technology, Mays Landing
• Brigantine Elementary School, Brigantine
• Charles L. Spragg Elementary School,
• Clayton J. Davenport Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Clayton J. Davenport Primary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Dawes Avenue School, Somers Point
• Egg Harbor City Community School, Egg Harbor City
• Egg Harbor Township High School, Egg Harbor Township
• Galloway Township Public Schools Childcare Program
• George L. Hess Educational Complex, Mays Landing
• George J. Mitchell Elementary School, Little Egg Harbor Township
• Hammonton Early Childhood Education Center
• Islamic Academy of South Jersey, Egg Harbor Township
• Jordan Road Elementary School, Somers Point
• Mullica Township Middle School
• New York Avenue School, Atlantic City
• Pennsylvania Avenue School, Atlantic City
• Pinelands Regional High School, Tuckerton
• Port Republic School, Port Republic
• Richard M. Teitelman Middle School, Cape May
• Roland Rogers Elementary School, Galloway Township
• Seaview Elementary School, Linwood
• Slaybaugh Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Slaybaugh Primary School, Egg Harbor Township
• South Main Street School, Pleasantville
• Weymouth Township Elementary School, Dorothy
• Woodbine Elementary School, Woodbine

For more information about AtlantiCare’s Healthy Schools, Healthy Children Program, visit  www.atlanticare.org/healthyschools or call the AtlantiCare Access Center at 1-888-569-1000.

Media Contact:
Jennifer Tornetta, (O) 609-569-7010, (C) 609-335-3446, jennifer.tornetta@atlanticare.org


AtlantiCare, a member of Geisinger, is an integrated system of services designed to help people achieve optimal health. It includes AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center, AtlantiCare Health Engagement, the AtlantiCare Foundation, and AtlantiCare Health Services. Its more than 5,800 employees and more than 900 physicians serve the community in nearly 90 locations. A 2009 Malcolm Baldrige Award winner, AtlantiCare was also included in Modern Healthcare’s Best Places to Work in Healthcare in 2010. ARMC became the 105th hospital in the nation to attain status as a Magnet™ designated hospital in March of 2004 and was redesignated a Magnet™ hospital in 2008 and 2013.

© Copyright AtlantiCare 2016. All Rights Reserved.